

The First NSF Workshop for Women in Control

After Graduation: Women in Control Taking a Leadership Role A Workshop Dedicated to Honor Cheryl Schrader, IEEE CSS President

9:30am - 1:30pm, Wednesday, December 10, 2003 Spats Trattoria, Hyatt Regency Maui, Maui, Hawaii USA

Organized by: Bozenna Pasik-Duncan, Chair, CDC Control Education Activities **Sponsored by:** USA National Science Foundation, IEEE CSS, CDC'03, IEEE CSS Women in Control Standing Committee, IEEE CSS Technical Committee on Control Education

9:30 a.m. Welcome

- Kishan Baheti (Electrical & Communications Systems Division, NSF), Program Director
- Frank Lewis (The University of Texas at Arlington), 2003 CDC General Chair
- Bozenna Pasik-Duncan (University of Kansas), Chair, 2003 CDC Control Education Activities
- Anna Maria Perdon (Universita di Ancona), CSS Women in Control Committee Chair
- Cheryl Schrader (Boise State University), 2003 CSS President

9:40 a.m. Panel: Women in Control as Leaders, Challenges, Opportunities and Rewards. From Deans and Chairs of Departments Perspectives. Chair: Bozenna Pasik-Duncan (University of Kansas).

- John Baillieul (Chair, Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, Boston University)
- Chris Byrnes (Dean, Engineering School and Applied Science, Washington University, St. Louis)
- Peter Crouch (Dean, Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering, Arizona State University)
- Pramod Khargonekar (Dean, Engineering School, University of Florida)
- Belinda King (Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Oregon State University)
- Cheryl Schrader (Dean, College of Engineering, Boise State University)

10:40 a.m. Panel: *Women in Control as Leaders, Challenges, Opportunities and Rewards. From Faculty Perspectives.* Chair: Molly Shor (Oregon State University).

- Anuradha Annaswamy (MIT)
- Lucy Pao (University of Colorado at Boulder)
- Anna Maria Perdon (Universita di Ancona)
- Jing Sun (University of Michigan)
- Dawn Tilbury (University of Michigan)

11:40 a.m. Lunch Break

12:00 p.m. Keynote Address: *Women in Engineering - Are we <u>there</u> yet?* Chair: Linda Bushnell (University of Washington)

Vasundara V. Varadan (USA National Science Foundation), Division Director, Electrical & Communications Systems Division

12:30 p.m. *Mentoring Through AWM and Other Activities*, Chair: Fariba Fahroo (AFOSR program manager in Computational Mathematics).

• Suzanne Lenhart (University of Tennessee), Past President, Association for Women in Mathematics

1:00 p.m. Open Floor: "Reflections," Chair: Bozenna Pasik-Duncan

1:20 p.m. Closing Remarks: Cheryl Schrader

All of the CDC participants are invited to attend the workshop and contribute to the discussions